GaN Electrothermal Modeling for 5G MMIC Power Amplifier Designs

Date/Time: Mar 6, 2019 | 8 a.m. PT/11 a.m. ET/ 4 p.m. GMT
Fee: Free (advance registration required)
Presented by: Eric Leclerc, UMS
Hosted by: National Instruments
Registration: Register Here

Overview:
This webinar presents the characterization of a short gate-length (0.15 μm), gallium nitride (GaN) on silicon carbide (SiC) process for millimeter-wave (mmWave) applications up to 40 GHz. The transistor characterization utilizes multiple techniques, including pulsed IV and small-signal S-parameters and EM simulation to extract frequency-dependent parasitics and nonlinear behavior along with load-pull measurements for model validation. In addition, a comprehensive study of the thermal device behavior was conducted using transient simulation to generate an electrothermal model. The models developed by United Monolithic Semiconductors (UMS) have been organized into the UMS GH15 process design kit (PDK) for the NI AWR Design Environment platform and the Microwave Office circuit simulator to support the development of monolithic microwave integrated circuits (MMICs) targeting mmWave telecommunications. This webinar will present several design examples using the GH15 PDK, including a 10 W Ka-band (29.5 – 36 GHz) PA and a 2 W integrated front end for 24 – 30 GHz combining a GH15 power amplifier (PA) with other gallium arsenide (GaAs) functions in a plastic package for 5G applications. 

Presenter Bio:
Eric Leclerc joined UMS at its creation in 1996 to work on new power device development, characterization, and modeling. He is presently the field marketing manager within the UMS marketing and sales organization. Prior to his current role, he was the UMS foundry manager for several years. Born in France, Mr. Leclerc obtained a research degree in physics in 1984 and a solid-state physics DEA in 1985 at Paris XI University (Orsay). Learn more about UMS at: https://www.ums-gaas.com/