Network Synthesis Automates Interactive Matching-Circuit Design

Date/Time: Nov 28, 2018 | 9 a.m. PT/12 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. GMT
Presented by: Dr. John Dunn, AWR Group, NI
Hosted by: National Instruments
Registration: Register Here

Overview:
Reducing product development time requires design tools that support and expedite all stages of development, from translating performance requirements into an initial design through to optimization, physical realization, and final verification. This webinar examines the new network synthesis capability for the development of impedance-matching circuits that is available as an add-on module to Microwave Office circuit design software. This technology is used largely for RF/microwave applications to ensure that performance is optimized across the frequency band of interest. It can also be used to establish the best possible conjugate match to the system impedance for a broadband antenna, synthesizing an output-matching network that enables a power amplifier (PA) to meet efficiency and power performance targets, as well as for creating an input-matching network that gives the best possible noise figure (NF) across frequency for a low-noise amplifier (LNA).

Presenter Bio:
Dr. John Dunn, a recognized expert in EM modeling and simulation for high-frequency and high-speed circuit applications, is a senior applications engineer at NI (Formerly AWR Corp.) and develops and presents NI AWR software training material to customers worldwide. Before joining AWR Group, he was head of the interconnect modeling group at Tektronix and a professor of electrical engineering at the University of Colorado, Boulder, where he led a research group in EM simulation and modeling. Dr. Dunn received his Ph.D. and M.S. degrees in applied physics from Harvard University and is a senior member of IEEE.