Reappraisal of RFPA Modes

Date/Time: May 28, 2019 | 9 a.m. PT/12 p.m. ET/ 5 p.m. GMT
Fee: Free (advance registration required)
Presented by: Dr. Steve Cripps
Registration: Register Here

Overview:
This webinar presents recent work that calls into question several well-established principles in RF power amplifier (RFPA) design. Conventional theory usually assumes that the active device current waveform is invariant with output voltage, which leads to some simple mathematical formulations and widely quoted results for power and efficiency. But the “soft” IV knee characteristic of a gallium nitride (GaN) device, along with the inevitable presence of a second harmonic component in the output voltage waveform, cause some substantial changes to these conventional and widely-held results.

Presenter Bio:
Dr. Steve Cripps obtained his Masters and Ph.D. degrees from Cambridge University in the 1970s. After working for a few years with the pioneering gallium arsenide (GaAs) group at Plessey Research, he emigrated to the U.S., where he spent 15 years working in various engineering and management positions at Watkins Johnson, Loral, and Celeritek. In 1996 he returned to the UK, working as an independent consultant before taking on an academic post at Cardiff University, where he is currently a distinguished research professor. Dr. Cripps has authored several best-selling books on RFPA design and is a regular contributor to the IEEE Microwave Magazine with his popular “Microwave Bytes” column. Dr. Cripps is a fellow of the IEEE and was the 2008 recipient of the IEEE Microwave Application Award.