Virtual Antenna Matching-Circuit Design and Integration for IoT Devices

Date/Time: May 15, 2019 | 8 a.m. PT/11 a.m. ET/4 p.m. GMT
Fee: Free (advance registration required)
Presented by: Dr. Jaume Anguera, Fractus Antennas 
Registration: Register Here

Overview:
This webinar presents a new technology and design methodology in which one antenna component from Fractus Antennas fits all internet of things (IoT) designs based on a new generation of tiny components named antenna boosters. To address IoT applications, this miniature, multipurpose, and surface-mount component fits seamlessly in an electronic printed circuit board the same as way any other electronic component, replacing conventional customized antennas for wireless applications. The miniature booster is also multiband, so it easily works to any standard or frequency (NB-IoT, LoRa, Sigfox, WiFi, GPS, 4G, 3G…), even multiple standards simultaneously.

The input impedance of these devices can be designed for any frequency, aided by the support of impedance matching network synthesis and RF circuit simulation from NI AWR software. They can be assembled in production on the main PCB using conventional pick-and-place machinery, resulting in a lower production cost and improved quality and reliability. Being much smaller than the operating wavelength, the antenna boosters still provide full functional multiband wireless connectivity to smartphones and IoT devices.

Presenter Bio:
Dr. Jaume Anguera is the chief scientist at Fractus Antennas, the lead inventor of the Virtual Antenna™ technology, and an associate professor at University Ramon LLull, Barcelona, Spain. He was R&D manager at Fractus 1999-2017 and worked in South Korea designing antennas for the mobile industry at Samsung and LG. He is an inventor of over 140 granted patents, many of them licensed, and an author of over 220 scientific papers. He has 20 years of experience in industrial antenna design for wireless devices.